Share this page

Marion Dewar Prize

Published on May 19, 2014

The National Capital Committee on the Scholarship, Preservation and Dissemination of Women’s History

17 May 2014

We wish to inform you that Rhonda Hinther is the 2014 winner of the Marion Dewar prize.  This prize is awarded annually by the National Capital Committee on the Scholarship, Preservation and Dissemination of Women’s History, which is composed of a group of feminist historians drawn from a variety of universities and colleges as well as government, cultural institutions and non-profit organizations in the Ottawa-Gatineau region. The award was struck in 2004 in honour of an outstanding feminist activist, Marion Dewar, who served with distinction as Ottawa’s mayor from 1978 to 1985. 

The Marion Dewar award is given to Canadian historians who specialize in women’s history and it recognizes an outstanding scholar based on the strength of research, teaching and administrative work during her or his career to date.  We believe that Rhonda’s commitment to women’s history has consistently expressed itself not only in her academic and curatorial work but also in her involvement in women’s history organizations. 

Rhonda Hinther  specializes in feminist history, oral history and Ukrainian-Canadian History. She is an associate professor in the Department of History at Brandon University and the former Head of Research and Curation at the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, Winnipeg. She is also a research/professorial associate in the Women and Gender Studies Program at the University of Manitoba; an adjunct professor at Global College, University of Winnipeg;  and  an adjunct professor in the Department of History at Carleton University, where she is also a  Research Associate in the Carleton Centre for Public History. 

Rhonda is the 10th recipient of this award. We believe that her career has demonstrated excellence and we wish to congratulate her. 

Yours very sincerely, 

Barbara Freeman
(for the committee) 

Jayne Elliott, PhD, AMS Nursing History Research Unit, University of Ottawa

Dianne Dodd, PhD, Historian, Cultural Sciences Branch, Parks Canada

Barbara Freeman, PhD, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University (ret’d)


Ottawa Web Design